10/19/16: Artist, L CON, Michael Wollny/Vincent Peirani, Barge


@@@ Michael Wollny and Vincent Peirani: Tandem (ACT, 2016). Some straight jazz out of Europe that I got to via the London Jazz blog. This first tune is piano and accordion and I really like how these two instruments sound together. Long smeared tones over the wide ranging piano. There is no swinging lounge vibe going on here, it’s just two musicians playing together and I appreciate that focus on the playing. I love being completely surprised by this record. Imma going to swing back on this record as I’ve really liked what I’ve heard and there’s a good chance this record will end up on my year end list. Check these guys out.

@@@ L CON: Moon Milk (Wildlife Sanctuary, 2016). An art school rock like record I got to via this week’s CFUV weekly email. I’m hearing big ass Bjork Vibes up in here in the first tune (clipped below!) Slow and meaningful, not objectionable. I like the drum sound on this first tune — small booth and tight sounding. Let’s peep more. Just when I thought this tune was going to float away on a wave of estrogen and feelings it got darker. #womby. The problem here for me is I don’t really like the singer — she sings well but I don’t dig her enunciation and as the album unfolds I hear more ’80s synth rock creeping in, which isn’t a big draw for me.

@@@ Barge: Barge (Grave Mistake, 2016). This record is in the loud section and as opposed to yesterday where there was a squawky cabaret indie record snuck in to that section, this record sits firmly in the hardcore punk/thrash neighborhood. I like this neighborhood and with 12 songs clocking in at 14 minutes these are bite sized chunks of hatred aimed towards society. Big ups to the guitar player and more so the drummer who bounces the band from one section to another. It’s standard hardcore/metal but if you need to let some bile out, these gents will aid in that healing process. #fucksociety

@@@ Artist: Boogie wit da Hoodie (Not sure, 2016). Some non New York sounding hip hop coming out of the Bronx. Skittery beats, fat greasy bass and an MC that sings and raps. He’s got some Autotune on his voice which sounds less than great to my ears and I don’t dig the piano in this post breakup tune, Still Think About You. Strong Drake vapors on this record which is unfortunate. Did you know Drake has a huge pool in L.A.?

YTD recordings listened to: 826
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 462
Not good music: 309

Buys: 15
Honorable Mentions: 12

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Joe Sticky, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Neurosis, Magrudergrind, Gorguts, Solange, Acid Arab, Brent Cobb, Xylouris White, Vadou Game, Michael Wollny/Vincent Peirani

Leave a Reply

