11/25/16!!! Garth Brooks, Tonbruket, The Suffers


@@@ Garth Brooks: Gunslinger (Pearl, 2016). I wanted to check out this new record by Garth Brooks after reading a long article about how he fought with his label when he originally wanted to a country opera about masturbation called Pudwhacker. Apparently he backed off that title and went with Gunslinger but it’s not on Apple Music and that gives me the sads big time. Here’s the new single off this greatest hits collection off the GoogleTube. Sounds like Garth wants to be the Jimmy Buffett of country, this is mad upbeat. Some may say too upbeat and that would be me.

@@@ Tonbruket: Forevergreens (ACT, 2016) Ted Gioia is the only music critic I know of that listens to more music than me but he doesn’t listen to all the nasty business that I love — the metal and the hard hip hop. This is on his honorable mention list for 2016 which I just peeped. It’s 100 records of honorable mention and on the downside he’s got Beyonce’s Lemonade and Sting’s new biscuit on there. This record is described as jazz/prog/ambient folk. I was interested in how that ambient folk might manifest itself but I don’t hear it in this first tune. Let’s peep more. This third tune, Sinkadus, does bring some folk guitar and folk vibes and it’s a very sweet and minimalist tune. The fourth tune, Tarantella opens up with an epic quasi-metal guitar blaster so this record looks set to jump around. I find some of it interesting but I wouldn’t put it on my year end list.

@@@ The Suffers: The Suffers (The Suffers Music, 2016). Some Gulf Coast soul also of Gioia’s honorable mention. Super sweet female singer and a firm and upscale beat in this first tune, Make Some Room. I’m on the the fourth tune and though I like the big ensemble sound and I dig the drummer I would enjoy this record more if it had a bit more muscle. I like some grit in my soul music yo.

YTD recordings listened to: 932
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 519
Not good music: 352

Buys: 15
Honorable Mentions: 15

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Destruction Unit, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Mystic Braves, Divanhana, Unrestrained, Moken, Systema Solar, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Joe Sticky, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Neurosis, Magrudergrind, Solange, Acid Arab, Xylouris White, Vadou Game, Michael Wollny/Vincent Peirani, Bonga, A Tribe Called Quest, 6Lack

Leave a Reply

