Music for 12/14/16!!! Sam Hunt, Demdike Stare, Ian William Craig, Steve Thompson and Louis Tomlinson


@@@ Sam Hunt: Montevallo (MCA Nashville, 2016). This record is up on the Apple Music best albums of 2016 which is (in my humble opinion) mostly a wasteland of bloated corporate music carcasses. This record takes an unusual approach for a new country record — Montevallo eschews the Bon Jovi arena rock vocal hooks in favor of a hip hop loverboy ‘flowing on the mic’ approach. It’s odd. Oh wait, there’s a giant fluffy whoa ho right there, that’s what I came for (not). Let’s peep one more this is wild business. He’s hitting the mic in a similar manner in the second tune, Leave the Night On. I really don’t know what to say you gotta peep this whiteboy in his Converse Chucks.

@@@ Demdike Stare: Wonderland (Modern Love, 2016). I had to move on from that Apple Music best of 2016 list. I was scarred by Mr. Hunt and I had perused so many of those records already there wasn’t much hope for a gent such as me. This record is off this week’s All Music notable release email and it’s an experimental techno thang. This first tune opens up with semi-dark industrial grinding, some old school beats and then some krautrock skittering drum machine. It’s all right, let’s peep more. Think of that first tune as Nine Inch Nails lite and a the second tune is opening up more hip hop-pish. Pish I say. And then chopped and not glitched but layered over twice so it becomes a sort of herky jerky rhythm sandwich. It’s good but is there more sauce for this patty? There’s a little melodic garnish but nothing to get you too whooped up. Let’s peep on. This third tune, Hard Noise, is opening up combo platter deep space static/early video game. Help me Obi Wan Kenobi, you’re my only hope!

@@@ Ian William Craig: Meaning Turns to Whispers (Aguirre, 2016). #8 on the Quietus records of the year and shit. We’re still in computer music nerd land but this is opening up dream like with a little bit of static and some whoosh. I love a good whoosh. I also love a good sploosh (Archer reference!). Oh, piano. I don’t usually like piano in my ambient music it comports a sort of highbrow-ness. I expect a beautiful woman wearing loose Hobbit-y flowing robes to float down from above my head and tell me how special I am. Believe me, I’m not special. Let’s peep. I skipped the second tune as it’s an compositional extension of the first piece. So this third ambient banger opens up a tad darker not as dark as Donald Trump’s asscrack but shady. More piano, it’s not the record it’s me!

@@@ Steve Thompson & Louis Tomlinson (Ultra LLC, 2016). Super sophisticated sounds paired with horribly cliche lyrics and cheesy ass background vocals in this single from the Apple Music hot tracks. What would an electro single sound like with great lyrics? Can somebody out there point to somebody working in this sonic space an trying to not shoot a cheese-gasm across the sky? Oh I see from the GoogleTube that these guys were finalists on the Vox UK — that explains a lot. Let the stupid rain down.

YTD recordings listened to: 976
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 545
Not good music: 371

Buys: 19
Honorable Mentions: 21

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Divanhana, Moken, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, Acid Arab, Bonga, A Tribe Called Quest

Leave a Reply

