Music for 12/15/16!!! Shirley Collins, Innercity Ensemble, J. Cole


@@@ Shirley Collins: Lodestar (Domino, 2016). Some old school pastoral Brit/Irish folk from a musician that looks like she had a lot of records from the late ’50s to the late ’60s and has been re-recorded at a much later date (as in this year). Besides being a sort of time capsule it’s very pretty folk music with orchestral flourishes. Oh the bagpipes are out in this second tune, awesome. I’m on the fourth tune and I like Collins’ voice — I happen to own a bunch of old school folk on vinyl from my work in building a streaming archive of obscure vinyl. I’ve heard these sounds before but she does a good job and check her flow out and then maybe throw the Lord of the Rings on the ol’ Roku.

@@@ Innercity Ensemble: III (Instant Classic, 2016) A mash of noise rock, electronic elements and even some ambient jazz horn work on this opening track from a record that is #3 on the Quietus records best of 2016. Let’s peep more and hope it holds up. I guess I got a little pumped up as that was rocking third tune I was listening to and the opener is more of a long tone piece. I’m a pretty finicky jazz listener and I like this trumpet player — he’s above average and his playing works well within the context of this record. The combination of sounds is fresh but not gimmicky. This is why I dig outfits like the Quietus. This is their #3 record of the year, Pitchfork would never do that. It’s a really good record check it out.

@@@ J. Cole: 4 Your Eyez Only (Roc Nation, 2016). This record is getting a big push on Apple Music. I don’t know if it’s exclusive to the Big Apple but this first tune is pretty above average newer style r&b. He’s got a tasteful trumpet player and his singing is solid, though it’s starting to get a bit overwrought in this first tune. This second tune is a more standard hip hop tune and I like the sounds except it’s a pretty weak defense of being a drug dealer. Fuck that. Sonically it’s a pretty progressive sounding hip hop record — well color me confused. I thought at first it was an r&b record, then I thought it was a hip hop record but it’s both. I’m on the fourth tune and it has been two hip hop tunes and two r&b tunes. I would recommend 6Lack’s new record over this as it mashes hip hop and r&b but does a better job.

YTD recordings listened to: 979
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 547
Not good music: 372

Buys: 19
Honorable Mentions: 21

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Divanhana, Moken, Brian Eno, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, Miramar, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, Acid Arab, A Tribe Called Quest

Leave a Reply

