Music for 3/4/17!!! Lorde, The Shins, Elastic Bond


@@@ Lorde: Green Light (Universal, 2017)  Lorde’s new tune is being globally extruded like a giant EDM sausage.  It goes from being somewhat acceptable to a giant slice of frozen cheese pizza falling out of the sky.  Lots of breathy singing and folks know how much I love that style of orgasm singing.  She’s got both handclaps and a giant background vocal choir, it’s really a half club banger.  I think it’s not worthy of the hype but that means it will probably be huge.

@@@ The Shins: Heartworms (Sony, 2017)  I think I’ve checked out the Shins before and somehow I keep thinking they’re an old punk band, not these pop rock cheesemongers I keep checking out.  I guess I’m not very bright.  They have a few advance tracks up on the Apple Music and it’s a pop, baroque orchestral thing — it’s like Paul McCartney but even shallower.  This second advance Maidenhall is a step down, I guess I was skimming the cream on that first tune.  Oh boy, remind not to check out the Shins again!

@@@ Elastic Bond: Honeybun (Nacional, 2017)  Some Latin indie off the big long list of recent releases at WRIR in Virginia.  A tight drummer, some nice space organ and trombone.  I love trombone but this is kinda elevator trombone music.  Let’s peep more.  No words on that openers so who knows?  Ah, a female singer on this second tune and she’s rocking a sultry, dreamy vibe.  There’s a soft funk aspect to this record.  I’m not sure I like it or I half like it, but I think I prefer the full funk.  I do like the drummer here but I’m opposed to the smooth funk, gimme the full on funk treatment please!

YTD recordings listened to: 151
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 81
Not good music: 46

Buys: 0
Honorable Mentions: 1

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Dave Arner Trio, Zomby, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Fofoulah, Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Divanhana, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Tinariwen, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Fruko Y Sos Tesos

Leave a Reply

