Music for 5/4/17!!! Tredici Band, Eric Matthews, Frank Ocean


@@@ Tredici Band: Amore Per Tutti (Self-released, 2017?) I got to this cassette/digital release of Italian pop via an email from a musician that used to be on my label.  I speak about the Italian pop as a collector and have many vinyls (as the Italians would say) in my obscure out of print vinyl archive.  This first tune is tad brisk and doesn’t swing quite as much as I would like but they have the organ sound spot on.  This second tune opens up with the correct sounds but I feel they’re taking the tune too quickly with not enough swing.  Imma gonna tip after this third tune which is closer to a George Michael/WHAM song than it is Italian pop.

This is one of the hot vinyls from my archive here.

@@@ Eric Matthews: Too Much World (Lo Fidelity Records, 2017)  A mash of prog, soft rock, shoegaze and singer songwriter music that I got to via a music publicist in Chicago.  Matthews has a big rock star voice and he’s airing it out.  The second tune is a piano track with strings so the ’70s epic rock vibe continues.  I’m gonna exit after this third tune as these aren’t genres Imma huge fan of.  Matthews has a great voice, the mixes could chop some high end out of them, and I prefer less drama than more but that’s just me.

@@@ Frank Ocean: Lens (Apple, 2017)  Apple is all up in Frank Ocean’s business and he’s got autotune on this ballad.  Halfway in Ocean brings in a tiny beat, some call and response vocals, and some synth clouds.  The vocal hook revolves around the line ‘I can feel the smiles on me’ and then some lines about how various people have a lens on him.  I find this tune and Ocean’s work in general to be pleasantly slack but somewhat meandering — I get that he’s not gonna roll corporate pop star style but it’s a bit too wavy gravy for me.

YTD recordings listened to: 268
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 159
Not good music: 103

Buys: 5
Honorable Mentions: 2

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark

Leave a Reply

