Music for 6/16/17!!! Petros Klampanis, Yazz Ahmed, Nico Niquo


@@@ Petros Klampanis: Translator’s Note (Enja, 2017)  Called a secret weapon of jazz in a recent email from National Sawdust this first tune is a pretty ballad that takes it time and is not too sweet.  I don’t think I’m gonna hang for the full 13 minutes but I’ll peep some more.  I like this second tune, Welcome, a bit more as it sports a brisker tempo and more energy.  It’s a wee bit straight lace and laid-back for my taste but the sounds are really well done and check it for yourself.  The instrumentation is sax, piano, bass and drums and the tempos are more muted than blasting for sure.

@@@ Yazz Ahmed: La Saboteuse (N/A, 2017)  Another jazz record, this one by a Middle Eastern woman.  I got to this via a twat on the Twatter retwatted by Bird is the Worm.  It opens up spaciously with some Bitches Brew era sounding trumpet and a glassy ring.  The second tune brings in some Middle Eastern drumming and a stringed instrument most likely an oud.  Outside of the sounds it’s pretty straight.  It is a fairly large electric ensemble with electric organ and electric bass so it’s bound to evoke Bitches Brew.  I like this organ player!  I like the ambient feel of the recording as well as the players in the ensemble.  I like the way Ahmed shares the space with the rest of her players and it makes for a better record.

@@@ Nico Niquo: In a Silent Way (Orange Milk, 2017)  I’ve had an influential ambient record list tabbed open for a bit and I would like to move on with my musical life.  As I’m a musical contrarian I’m going to the bottom of the list where the quality lies.  Number of social media shares can be manipulated people and it is.  This first tune is a lot of synth cloud action.  Not cheesy but a lot.  There’s a bit of a New Age vibe to the sounds but I want to peep more.  Things get a bit darker in this second tune, He Loved Him Madly.  I’m on the third tune and this isn’t dark enough for me.  It’s a lot of upper register synths placed in minimal arrangements but I like a bit of aggro/darkness to my ambient music.

YTD recordings listened to: 370
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 210
Not good music: 144

Buys: 5
Honorable Mentions: 2

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Drone, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Aethenor, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Oumou Sangare, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb, Gloom

Leave a Reply

