Music for 6/21/17!!! Brownout, Adam Rudolph’s Moving Pictures, Evacuate the Earth, Lorde


@@@ Brownout: Over the Covers EP (Fat Beats, 2017)  A mash of funk and classic rock that I got to via a music publicist email.  Full horn section, percussion, lotsa singers, two guitars, it’s a crowded stage.  I like this first tune though I could use some more slop.  I think the weak point here is the drummer, he’s all right but he could use some dookie stick to take this large ensemble to the next level.  Horn section outta sight, the singer meh.

@@@ Adam Rudolph’s Moving Pictures: Dream Garden (Meta Records, 2016)  I saw this jazz musician name checked on this week’s London Jazz blog and thought I would check him out.  The first tune from this largeish ensemble is warmly percolating improv — drummer and percussionist, at least two horns, bass.  I’m not a huge fan of this guitar tone but let’s peep more.  The second tune is more loosely structured and I prefer it to the opener, though it was just a teaser and the third tune opens up into an even more expansive spot.  I like this flute playing.

@@@ Evacuate the Earth: Evacuate the Earth (N/A, 2017)  An old school inspired freak show type of record that I got to via a music publicist in the Chicago area.  I like the strangeness of this opener but I hope they bring some heat to the proceedings.  They’re getting there with the manic drumming and rapidly spinning horns.  It’s kind of like klezmer on crack with a proggy synth player.  This second tune is an off kilter spy movie/stripper themed tune.  The klezmer vibe creeps back in on the third tune and it’s a welcome addition the post-apocalyptic flow.  Myself I dig this record but I think they should go further and get raucous sooner in their tracks.  Check it out, this is what I thought John Zorn was supposed to sound like.

@@@ Lorde: Green Light (Universal Music, 2017)  Everybody is popping wood over this record so let’s peep the opener and we might eat this record in pieces.  Oh yeah, I’ve heard this track as a pre-release, fuck it stinks like shit.  There are some nice moments in the track but it’s overproduced and when she gets to the chorus I want to hurl a dirty diaper at her and her retinue.  And I don’t want to get into any sort of mouth shaming but in the course of this short post I’ve encountered four or five images of her and there’s something weird about her mouth.  Maybe she was attacked by a swarm of botox flies, she needs some mouth therapy.  I only mention this because all these pop stars have teams of handlers that do the marketing and the photos and it’s surprising nobody thought anybody would mention her mouth looking weird.  Anyway it’s been way more fun to talk smack about her lips than to listen to this track.  I know it has 74 million views but that don’t make it good!!!

YTD recordings listened to: 386
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 216
Not good music: 152

Buys: 6
Honorable Mentions: 4

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, Power Trip, Reverend Payton, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb, Gloom, Dead Ranch

Leave a Reply

