Ah, Paul Ryan’s fucked in the head definition of ‘freedom’


From Slate here:

“What they’re basically saying at the Congressional Budget Office is that, if you’re not going to force people to buy Obamacare, if you’re not going to force people to buy something they don’t want, then they won’t buy it,” said our nation’s foremost P90X enthusiast. “It’s not that people are getting pushed off a plan. It’s that people will choose not to buy something that they don’t like or want.”

I have Obamacare, the Medicaid part of Obamacare.

And earlier this year I had a cataract removed from my right eye.  I was free to go to the doctor and get a referral to another doctor who is partnered with a cataract surgeon who removed it from my eye.

The procedure cost money, but it was paid for by Medicaid and they paid the doctor.  I was freed by the insurance plan to go get my eye fixed.  I was free to do this and chose to do it because my right eye was getting so cloudy and fucked that I felt it was not safe for met to drive my young children in the car with me at the wheel.

If you take Medicaid away from a person in this situation you make it harder for me to keep my health stable and my family safe.  I’m less free to do this — I don’t give a fuck if you hate Medicaid but don’t serve up some fucked up definition of freedom to justify taking away my freedom to get my cataract removed.

If you want to talk about forcing young people to buy insurance that was a really dumb part of Obamacare and that’s why I shit on Nancy Pelosi for calling herself a master legislator.  That was a way fucking stupid move politically but they’re not very bright.

But don’t mash together that poor feature of Obamacare with the part where you’re free to get some of your health problems squared away.

You’re always gonna get the dick move from Paul Ryan but this one is especially offensive.

Leave a Reply

