Music for 7/25/17!!! Poppy, Tyler the Creator, Dasher


@@@ Poppy: Interweb (Mad Decent, 2017)  The official anthem of the NSA!  Maybe I’m a spider, maybe I’m a fisherman, I’ll catch you in my interweb.  A sultry female singer, some synths and a standard boom bap beat but the lyrics are great.  Tongue in cheek I would think but ya never know.

@@@ Tyler, the Creator: Flower Boy (Sony, 2017) I really liked one of the singles so I’m back for the full length.  I really like his rhymes, but I don’t dig the sounds on this record thus far.  It’s a lot of synths which decreases the funk factor (for me at least).  I continue to really like Who Dat Boy, the pre release single, it really stands apart from the first three tracks.  Folks expecting a continuation of that single will be disappointed.  Is it wrong for me to want my hip hop funky?

@@@ Dasher: Sodium (Jagjaguwar, 2017)  Some garage-y punk off this week’s CFUV playlist email.  Fast out of the gate with slashing guitars these guys whip a solid punk shitty.  All members of the outfit are at full energy.  They have a little bit of a ’80s Janes Addiction kind of sound in the vocals and the guitar sound.  Solid B+ and the female singer does good work.

YTD recordings listened to: 484
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 264
Not good music: 198

Buys: 7
Honorable Mentions: 6

Possibles: Chris McGregor, Retox, Defeater, Jonwayne, Okkyung Lee, The Ballantynes, Slidhr, The Chewers, Toxic Holocaust, Susie Iberra/Roberto Rodriguez, Lenguas Largas, The Coral, T.O.M.B., Lozen, Erase Errata, Mastery, Leviathan, Hartley C. White, Weed, Cold Water, Janelle Monae, Luther Dickinson, Graeme Barrett, Fast Asleep, Goldlink, Cavanaugh, Gentleman Surfer, Satoko Fuji, Moken, Juan Atkins, Lantern, Twin Peaks, Djelimady Tounkara, The Oh Sees, Denny Zeitlin, MILF, Unfun, De La Soul, Carl Sagan’s Skate Shoes, Magrudergrind, A Tribe Called Quest, Noname, Gouge Away, Anna Hogberg, Klara Lewis, Krullur, The Lowest Form, Hard Proof, James Brandon Lewis, Yotoco, Jungle Fire, Sandoz, J.I.D., Oddisee, Forro in the Dark, RAM, Fiver, Dona Onete, Succumb Succumb, Gloom, Priests, Propaganda, This is the Kit, Roberto Gonzalez, Integrity

Leave a Reply

