Music for 6/28/24!!! The Felice Brothers, Hiatus Kaiyote


@@@ The Felice Brothers: Valley of Abandoned Songs (Million Stars, 2024) Is slotted as indie folk on the weekly All Music notable release email but as alternative on the Apple Music. It does have a distinctly Bob Dylan post folk electric vibe to it maybe that explains what they’re going for in the marketing. I like the first tune but it felt a bit long which is never a good sign. The second tune, Flowers by the Roadside, is another slack 1970’s nugget so it looks like like that’s what we’re getting here. I’m agnostic as I like parts of it but I’m left wanting something more that makes it unique and something that gets me to friggin love it. It sags by the third tune and I think I’m heading out.

@@@ Hiatus Kaiyote: Love Heart Cheat Code (Brainfeeder, 2024). Also off this week’s All Music notable release email. My perception of Brainfeeder is that they’re a label that does the proggy black music whatever shape that may come in. We got a two plus minute track that opens it up and it’s more than a tad Age of Aquarius but let’s peep a bit more. Okay she kept the harp on this second track it’s tucked back there in the mix but she brings some nice drum machine action with the thick thick bass that I immediately groove with. Maybe this is a drummer, I think it is a drummer mixed to sound a whole bunch like a drum machine. The bass player is really quite good, he’s got it going on. The fourth tune, BMO is Beautiful is weirder and more impactful and overall the album is starting to heat up but I could use more grit. I’m not trying to be a dick here, she’s got all manner of melody and virtuosity going on here and if it had some distortion it would provide a depth and contrast that I think it currently lacks.

Leave a comment