Active Music Listening Wednesday October 24, 2012


YTD recordings listened to: 777
Good music, not recommended for purchase: 457
Not good music: 279
Buys: 26 (not all 2012 releases)
Possibles: Zani Diabate, Isaiah Toothtaker (2011), Ondatropica, Sidsel Endresen & Stan Westerhus, The Ones to Blame, Boyd Rivers, Abdoulaye Alhassane Toure, Cryptopsy, Nick Waterhouse, Patterson Hood, Wahid, Wadada Leo Smith ‘Ten Freedom Summers’, Skyzoo, Pig Destroyer, Bettye Lavette, Philippe Petite, Paul Giallorenzo, Chris McGregor

@@@ Portage: The Unsalted Sea (Self-released via Bandcamp, 2012)  I found this record via the blog folkhive over here that I found via Hypem.  The music is working that vein between soft rock and folk.  Simple and satisfying drum sound, a somewhat melancholic songwriting flow, but not too Leonard Cohen-y.  I appreciate the simple approach that leaves some space between instruments, and I totally appreciate the lack of synthesizers.  Give that shit a break.  The blog said that this recording slayed their guts.  I like it, but my guts remain unmurdered.

@@@ Titus Andronicus: Local Business (XL, 2012).  MOG front page release.  When the first tune, Ecce Homo, my first thought was ‘shouldn’t music folks go buy the Clash’s London Calling instead of this record?’.  This is no generational beef — the Clash did a much better job swingin’ their tunes than these guys and their lyrics are smarter and better.  These guys need a better rhythm section, imho.

@@@ Frou Frou: Details(Geffen, 2002).  I saw this record featured over here at Indieshuffle using both the term eargasm and timeless.  I want a timeless eargasm, sign me up.  I’m listening now and sad to say I’m not having an eargasm.  Frou frou sports beats more lounge-y than club oriented and there are snatches of indie here and there with some slightly buzzy non-threatening guitar to go with the keyboard bass and the beats.  Oh, the beats.  Nice wide sounding production is cancelled by the occasional orgasm breathing by the leggy, pouty female singer.  She’s British and that’s so hot.  Random non-sequitur to finish up this pocket review.  Solid B-, no eargasm and I’m bitter.

@@@ Diamond Rings: Free Dimensional (Capitol, 2012).  The onslaught of electro-pop-rock continues with this MOG front page release.  Thankfully absent are the chainsaw synths — here we get a moody male singer and some big, pillowy synths to groove on.  I’m not a buyer or advocate of this record, but at least there are songs here that hold together and I’m grateful for that.  Low expectations are key to the indie electronic genre.

@@@ Further Seems Forever: Penny Black (Rise, 2012).  I listened to this record of the front page of MOG as I had not heard of the label Rise, but my guess this is a fake indie label owned/financed by a major.  This is your mainstream corporate rock, with the power chords, the breathy/sexy male singer, your Bon Jovi whoa-ohs, and a little synth arpeggio in the background.  Great music to sell blue jeans at the mall.  High energy background music, nothing unexpected or creative to stop the shopping.

@@@ The Intelligence: Everybody’s Got It Easy But Me (The Red Records, 2012).  I got to this indie garage electronic record via a music publicist email.  Drum machine, slacker three chord strumming, and a heavily reverbed male voice open up the record with  I like La.  The second tune ‘Hippy Provider’ has a drummer and is remarkably close to that Tommy 2 Tone ‘986-5309’ with a pubic hair of the Knack thrown in for good measure.  High energy, pretty much all fluff, with a little indie garnish.

Leave a comment